Skip to content

Magnetic tiles

Best magnetic tiles in 2026: Magna-Tiles, Connetix, PicassoTiles

Magna-Tiles, Connetix, PicassoTiles and Coodoo compared for ages 3 to 8: how the magnets are held in, brand compatibility, value per tile and recall checks.

  • 16 sources
  • 6 products compared
  • All 6 picks recall-checked in US, UK and EU databases (US by hand)
  • Researched, not lab-tested
In this guide
  1. Our verdict
  2. How we chose these
  3. Our picks
  4. How to choose in four questions
  5. The key facts side by side
  6. Why magnet construction matters
  7. Safety marks and recalls
  8. What about OugerToy, rods-and-balls kits and the cheapest sets?
  9. Frequently asked questions
  10. Sources we used

Quick answer

Our verdict

For most families, the MAGNA-TILES Classic 32 is the best-documented start: the maker says each magnet is riveted inside a lattice frame, it says it has never had a recall in more than 25 years, no US, UK or EU database lists one, and every MAGNA-TILES set fits every other as a collection grows. CONNETIX makes the strongest construction claims (welded and riveted magnets, with EN 71 and ASTM F963 listed) and ships to the UK and Europe. PicassoTiles costs far less per tile but does not say how its magnets are secured. Every set here is rated for ages 3 and up.

How we chose these

  1. 1Magnet security: what the maker says holds each magnet in place (rivets, welding, "sealed", or nothing stated), because a loose magnet is the main hazard
  2. 2Recalls and safety marks: checks in the US CPSC, UK product-safety and EU Safety Gate databases, and the toy standards each maker lists
  3. 3Age fit: the maker's age grading (every set here is 3 and up) and how small the pieces are
  4. 4Compatibility: base size and what each maker actually claims about mixing brands
  5. 5Value and availability: cost per tile and whether the set is sold in the US, the UK and Spain

The picks at a glance

Our picks

Our picksAgesPrice bandJump to
1. MAGNA-TILES Classic 32-Piece SetBest overall starter set3+ · $$3+$$Best overall starter set
2. CONNETIX Rainbow Starter Pack (60 pieces)Strongest build claims, ships to the UK and Europe3+ · $$3+$$Strongest build claims, ships to the UK and Europe
3. PicassoTiles 100-Piece Magnetic Tile Set (PT100)Lowest cost per tile among the big names3+ · $$3+$$Lowest cost per tile among the big names
4. MAGNA-TILES Classic 100-Piece SetBest for siblings and classrooms3+ · $$$3+$$$Best for siblings and classrooms
5. MAGNA-TILES microMAGS Travel 26-Piece SetBest for travel3+ · $3+$Best for travel
6. Coodoo magnetic tiles starter set (40 pieces)Budget starter that fits other brands3 to 14 · $3 to 14$Budget starter that fits other brands

Best overall starter set

MAGNA-TILES Classic 32-Piece Set

MAGNA-TILESAges: 3+Price band: $$

Why we picked it

The original 3-inch system and the best-documented one: MAGNA-TILES says its ceramic magnets are held by fastening rivets inside a lattice frame, states CPSIA compliance, and says it has never had a recall in more than 25 years; none of the three recall databases lists one. Every MAGNA-TILES set fits every other, so a small set can grow into a collection. It costs more per tile than most rivals, and the official store ships within the US only.

The original translucent magnetic tile set: 32 pieces (14 squares, 2 large squares and 16 triangles in three shapes) on a 3-inch base. MAGNA-TILES says each tile holds ceramic (ferrite) magnets secured by fastening rivets inside a lattice frame, and that every MAGNA-TILES set fits every other, including the smaller microMAGS. It is the brand's classic starter set.

Pieces
32: 16 squares (2 large) and 16 triangles
Magnets
Ceramic (ferrite), riveted inside a lattice frame (maker)
Works with
Every MAGNA-TILES set, including microMAGS; no cross-brand claim
Material
MABS plastic, free of BPA, phthalates and latex (maker); 3-inch base

Good to know

  • Maker states that rivets and an internal lattice hold the magnets and resist cracking
  • Fits every MAGNA-TILES set, so a collection can grow over the years
  • No recall notice for MAGNA-TILES in US, UK or EU recall databases on 2 October 2026
  • Food-grade MABS plastic that the maker describes as free of BPA, phthalates and latex

Watch out for

  • Costs more per tile than most alternatives
  • 32 pieces run out quickly for big builds or two children
  • The official store ships within the US only; in Spain it is sold through Amazon and a distributor
  • The maker does not claim compatibility with other brands
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: CPSIA.

Maker guidance: for ages 3 and up; supervise young children who put toys in their mouths, check tiles regularly and stop using any damaged tile; get medical help at once if a magnet is swallowed. Under the mandatory US toy standard (ASTM F963-23, section 4.38), loose magnets that fit in the small-parts cylinder, as supplied or after use-and-abuse testing, must have a flux index under 50. No recall notice for MAGNA-TILES was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026. The maker says it has never had a recall in more than 25 years.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

US CPSC, searched by hand on October 2, 2026: no recall found for "Magna-Tiles". See the search

Strongest build claims, ships to the UK and Europe

CONNETIX Rainbow Starter Pack (60 pieces)

CONNETIXAges: 3+Price band: $$

Why we picked it

CONNETIX says its tiles are ultrasonically welded and secured with metal rivets, and it lists US, EU and Australian toy standards (ASTM F963, CPSIA, EN 71). It ships from warehouses in the US, the UK and the Netherlands. Its magnets are stronger than most, which the maker itself says can make joins with other brands feel weaker.

An Australian-designed starter pack of 60 bevelled ABS tiles: 24 standard squares, 6 large squares, 18 triangles in three shapes, 6 square windows and 6 open squares, plus an idea book. CONNETIX says its tiles are ultrasonically welded and secured with metal rivets, that its magnets are stronger than most, and that it ships from warehouses in the US, the UK, the Netherlands (for the rest of Europe) and Australia.

Pieces
60: 30 squares (6 large), 18 triangles, 12 windows and open squares, idea book
Magnets
Ultrasonically welded and riveted (maker)
Works with
Most leading brands, though joins may feel weaker because its magnets are stronger (maker)
Material
ABS free of BPA, phthalates and PFAS; EN 71 and ASTM F963 listed by the maker

Good to know

  • Maker claims two layers of magnet security: ultrasonic welding plus metal rivets
  • Lists US, EU and Australian toy standards it tests to
  • Window and open-square pieces add variety a basic set lacks
  • Ships to Spain from an EU warehouse in the Netherlands

Watch out for

  • CONNETIX says connections with other brands may feel weaker because its magnets are stronger
  • Costs more per tile than mass-market brands
  • A 62-piece Rainbow Starter Pack is being cleared at the same time, so check the piece count when buying
  • Not waterproof: the maker says not to submerge tiles
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: ASTM F963-17, CPSIA, EN 71-1, EN 71-2, EN 71-3, AS/NZS ISO 8124-1.

Maker guidance: recommended for ages 3 and up; supervise younger children; clean with a damp cloth and never submerge, as moisture can damage the magnets. No recall notice for CONNETIX was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

US CPSC, searched by hand on October 2, 2026: no recall found for "Connetix". See the search

Lowest cost per tile among the big names

PicassoTiles 100-Piece Magnetic Tile Set (PT100)

PicassoTilesAges: 3+Price band: $$

Why we picked it

100 tiles in five shapes at a fraction of the cost per tile of MAGNA-TILES. The trade-off: neither the brand's pages nor its Amazon listings say how the magnets are secured, and Everplay, a brand sold on the same store, had an EU magnet recall in 2026 that does not cover this set. If you choose it, check the tiles for cracks regularly.

PicassoTiles' signature starter set: 100 tiles in five shapes (8 large squares, 46 small squares, 20 small triangles, 12 medium triangles and 14 tall triangles). The maker says it connects with all its full-size sets; the box measures about 14 x 11.6 x 3.1 inches.

Pieces
100: 54 squares (8 large) and 46 triangles
Magnets
Not stated by the maker
Works with
Full-size PicassoTiles sets only (maker); no cross-brand claim

Good to know

  • Among the lowest prices per tile for a branded set
  • Five shapes give more building options than a basic squares-and-triangles set
  • Sold on Amazon in both the US and Spain
  • No notice naming PicassoTiles in US, UK or EU recall databases on 2 October 2026

Watch out for

  • The maker does not say how magnets are secured inside the tiles
  • The maker claims compatibility only with its own full-size sets
  • Out of stock in the official store on 2 October 2026
  • A sister brand sold by the same store had an EU magnet recall in 2026
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: not confirmed on the maker pages we read.

Maker guidance: for ages 3 and up. Neither the PicassoTiles product pages nor its Amazon listings checked on 2 October 2026 say how the magnets are secured (no rivet or welding claim). The EU Safety Gate lists a 2026 recall in the Netherlands of the Everplay 66-piece magnetic tile set (model EP66, magnets with high flux, not compliant with EN 71-1); Everplay sets are sold on picassotiles.com, but that notice does not cover this set. No notice naming PicassoTiles was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026.

Safety notices that mention this product or brand:

US CPSC, searched by hand on October 2, 2026: no recall found for "PicassoTiles". See the search

Best for siblings and classrooms

MAGNA-TILES Classic 100-Piece Set

MAGNA-TILESAges: 3+Price band: $$$

Why we picked it

The same riveted MAGNA-TILES construction in a 100-piece set, at a lower cost per tile than the 32. The natural second step once a starter set runs out, and enough for two children to build at once.

The large classic set: 100 translucent tiles (50 squares, 4 large squares and 46 triangles in three shapes) with the same riveted ferrite-magnet construction and 3-inch base as the 32-piece set. MAGNA-TILES lists it at 7.4 lb and made in the Philippines, and pitches it at siblings, larger builds and classrooms.

Pieces
100: 54 squares (4 large) and 46 triangles
Magnets
Ceramic (ferrite), riveted inside a lattice frame (maker)
Works with
Every MAGNA-TILES set, including microMAGS; no cross-brand claim
Material
MABS plastic, free of BPA, phthalates and latex (maker); 3-inch base

Good to know

  • Lower cost per tile than the 32-piece set
  • Enough pieces for two builders or tall structures
  • Same rivet and lattice construction the maker uses across the range
  • No recall notice for MAGNA-TILES in US, UK or EU recall databases on 2 October 2026

Watch out for

  • High upfront price
  • Heavy box (about 3.4 kg) and needs a storage bin
  • The official store ships within the US only
  • Still only translucent squares and triangles; no windows, doors or rectangles
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: CPSIA.

Maker guidance: for ages 3 and up; supervise young children who put toys in their mouths, check tiles regularly and stop using any damaged tile; get medical help at once if a magnet is swallowed. Under the mandatory US toy standard (ASTM F963-23, section 4.38), loose magnets that fit in the small-parts cylinder, as supplied or after use-and-abuse testing, must have a flux index under 50. No recall notice for MAGNA-TILES was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026. The maker says it has never had a recall in more than 25 years.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

US CPSC, searched by hand on October 2, 2026: no recall found for "Magna-Tiles". See the search

Best for travel

MAGNA-TILES microMAGS Travel 26-Piece Set

MAGNA-TILESAges: 3+Price band: $

Why we picked it

26 mini tiles in a metal tin that doubles as a building base. They connect with every MAGNA-TILES set but are 75% smaller, so they do not line up with standard tiles from any brand. Small pieces: strictly for ages 3 and up, with supervision.

A travel set of 26 mini tiles (12 squares and 14 triangles in three shapes) packed in a metal tin that doubles as a building base. MAGNA-TILES says microMAGS are 75% smaller than its standard tiles, use the same riveted construction and connect with every MAGNA-TILES set.

Pieces
26 mini tiles in a metal tin that doubles as a base
Magnets
Same riveted construction as standard tiles (maker)
Works with
Every MAGNA-TILES set; 75% smaller than standard tiles

Good to know

  • Tin works as storage and as a magnetic building base on trips
  • Connects with standard MAGNA-TILES at home
  • Low entry price for the brand
  • No recall notice for MAGNA-TILES in US, UK or EU recall databases on 2 October 2026

Watch out for

  • Small pieces: strictly for ages 3 and up, with supervision
  • Only 26 pieces
  • Mini tiles do not match the size of standard tiles from any brand
  • Costs noticeably more on Amazon Spain than in the US
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: CPSIA.

Maker guidance: for ages 3 and up; supervise young children who put toys in their mouths, check tiles regularly and stop using any damaged tile; get medical help at once if a magnet is swallowed. Under the mandatory US toy standard (ASTM F963-23, section 4.38), loose magnets that fit in the small-parts cylinder, as supplied or after use-and-abuse testing, must have a flux index under 50. No recall notice for MAGNA-TILES was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026. The maker says it has never had a recall in more than 25 years.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

US CPSC, searched by hand on October 2, 2026: no recall found for "Magna-Tiles". See the search

Budget starter that fits other brands

Coodoo magnetic tiles starter set (40 pieces)

CoodooAges: 3 to 14Price band: $

Why we picked it

A 40-tile set on a 3-inch (7.6 cm) base that Coodoo says fits other leading brands, sold on Amazon in the US and Spain. Coodoo only describes its magnets as sealed, with no rivet, welding or test-standard claim, which is why it ranks below the brands that document more.

A budget 40-tile rainbow starter set sold on Amazon in the US and Spain. Coodoo says its tiles have a 3-inch (7.6 cm) base so they fit other leading brands, are made of food-grade ABS, and that the magnetic blocks are sealed, with a cross-fix design against cracking.

Pieces
40 squares and triangles
Magnets
"Sealed", with a cross-fix design (maker)
Works with
3-inch (7.6 cm) base; maker says it fits leading brands
Material
Food-grade ABS (maker)

Good to know

  • Low price per tile
  • Standard 3-inch base that the maker says fits other leading brands
  • Same listing sold on Amazon in the US and Spain
  • No recall notice for Coodoo in US, UK or EU recall databases on 2 October 2026

Watch out for

  • "Sealed" is the only detail given on how magnets are secured; no rivet or test-standard claim
  • Limited official information: the brand store does not list this 40-piece set
  • Wide 3-to-14 age claim says little about fit for toddlers
  • Only squares and triangles
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: not confirmed on the maker pages we read.

Maker guidance: from 36 months; the maker says the tiles are sealed and have smooth, rounded edges. Supervise young children and discard any cracked tile, because exposed magnets are an ingestion hazard. No recall notice for Coodoo was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

US CPSC, searched by hand on October 2, 2026: no recall found for "Coodoo". See the search

How to choose in four questions

1. How are the magnets held in? This matters more than the colour of the tiles. A tile that cracks can release a small, strong magnet, and the CPSC’s December 2025 recall of CreateOn’s Pip-Cubes described exactly that risk: magnets that can come loose when the seams separate. MAGNA-TILES says it uses rivets, CONNETIX says welding plus rivets, OugerToy says welding, Coodoo says “sealed”, and PicassoTiles says nothing either way.

2. Will you mix brands? Most full-size tiles sit on a 3-inch base, so they usually line up, but a maker’s promise is narrower than that. Only CONNETIX and Coodoo claim to fit other leading brands, and CONNETIX warns that its stronger magnets can make mixed joins feel weaker. MAGNA-TILES and PicassoTiles promise compatibility with their own sets only.

3. How many pieces? Starter sets of 26 to 40 pieces cover the basic shapes; bigger builds, or two children building at once, need more. Larger sets also cost less per tile: MAGNA-TILES’ 100-piece set costs less per tile than its 32-piece set at the brand’s own prices.

4. Where do you live? In the US, every set in this guide is easy to find. In the UK, MAGNA-TILES sells through its distributor Wow! Stuff and CONNETIX ships from its own UK warehouse. In Spain, read our Spanish guide to magnetic tiles: the best value there is different.

The key facts side by side

MAGNA-TILES Classic 32 CONNETIX Starter 60 PicassoTiles PT100 Coodoo 40 microMAGS 26
Pieces 32 60 100 40 26 (mini)
How magnets are held (maker) Rivets Welding and rivets Not stated “Sealed” Rivets
Fits other brands (maker) Own sets only Most leading brands Own sets only Leading brands MAGNA-TILES only
Standards the maker lists CPSIA ASTM F963, CPSIA, EN 71 None found None found CPSIA
Recall notices (2 Oct 2026) None None None (one for a sister brand) None None
Maker’s age 3+ 3+ 3+ 3 to 14 3+

Why magnet construction matters

Magnets inside tiles are safe while they stay inside. The rules focus on what happens when they do not. In the US, toys made after 20 April 2024 must meet ASTM F963-23, whose magnet section limits how strong a loose magnet small enough to swallow can be. In the EU, the EN 71-1 toy standard does the same job, and the UK’s product-safety regulator removes toys whose magnets exceed it.

What regulators keep finding is not the big brands. In August 2026 the CPSC announced a recall of about 213,500 Goody King magnetic building cubes sold on Amazon, after at least 27 reports of cubes breaking or opening and two children needing surgery. The EU’s Safety Gate lists tile sets withdrawn for magnets that are too strong: Everplay’s 66-piece set in the Netherlands (April 2026) and MOXY’s 32-piece Magnetic’Tiles in France (2025). None of the six picks in this guide appears in those databases.

Safety marks and recalls

We checked every product in this guide against the US CPSC, the UK’s product-safety notices and the EU’s Safety Gate on 2 October 2026. The UK and EU checks run automatically before every build; the CPSC’s data service was down, so we searched cpsc.gov by hand, and each card says so with the date and a link to the search.

  • MAGNA-TILES, CONNETIX, Coodoo and OugerToy: no notices in any of the three databases.
  • PicassoTiles: no notice names PicassoTiles. Its online store also sells Everplay sets, and Everplay’s 66-piece set (model EP66) was recalled in the Netherlands in April 2026 for high-flux magnets; that notice does not cover PicassoTiles sets.
  • The wider category: by our count of the CPSC’s recall list, 31 of the 120 recalls with “toy” in the title from February 2024 to September 2026 also mention magnets, mostly fidget sliders, stick figures and games. That is why the construction claims above are worth reading.

What about OugerToy, rods-and-balls kits and the cheapest sets?

OugerToy’s 104-piece set is a popular budget pick in the US and claims neodymium magnets sealed by ultrasonic welding, but it is not listed on Amazon Spain and the brand’s own site did not respond when we checked. Magnetic rods-and-balls kits, such as Lidl’s LUPILU set, are a different toy: their small metal balls and sticks appear often in EU safety alerts, so they need closer supervision than tiles. Below the brands in this guide, many sets say nothing about how their magnets are held in; at that point a lower price buys less certainty.

Frequently asked questions

Are magnetic tiles safe for toddlers?

Every set in this guide is rated for ages 3 and up. The danger is a magnet coming loose: two swallowed magnets can attract each other through the intestines. Choose a brand that says how its magnets are secured, check tiles for cracks, and throw away any damaged tile. In the US, toys made after 20 April 2024 must meet ASTM F963-23, which requires loose magnets small enough to swallow to have a flux index under 50.

Do Magna-Tiles work with Connetix and other brands?

Often, with caveats. Most standard sets share a 3-inch base, so edges usually line up, but only some makers claim cross-brand fit. CONNETIX says its tiles work with most leading brands, although joins may feel weaker because its magnets are stronger, and Coodoo says its 3-inch tiles fit leading brands. MAGNA-TILES and PicassoTiles only promise compatibility with their own sets, and microMAGS fit only MAGNA-TILES.

Have magnetic tiles been recalled?

On 2 October 2026 we found no recall of MAGNA-TILES, CONNETIX, PicassoTiles, Coodoo or OugerToy tiles in the US, UK or EU databases. Other magnetic building toys have been recalled: in August 2026 the CPSC announced a recall of about 213,500 Goody King magnetic building cubes after reports of loose magnets, and the EU's Safety Gate lists 2025 and 2026 recalls of tile sets from other brands, including Everplay's 66-piece set, for magnets that are too strong.

What about a 2-year-old?

Makers grade every set here for ages 3 and up because of small parts and magnets. Under 3, keep tiles for supervised play with an older child. Mini tiles and magnetic rods-and-balls kits are the least suitable: their pieces are smaller, and rods-and-balls kits appear often in EU safety alerts.

Are expensive magnetic tiles worth it?

What the higher price buys is mostly documentation: how the magnets are held in, which standards the maker lists, and a long record without recalls. MAGNA-TILES and CONNETIX document the most; budget brands often say little or nothing about magnet construction. If you buy budget tiles, inspect them more often.

Where can I buy them in the UK?

MAGNA-TILES has no UK store of its own and lists Wow! Stuff as its UK distributor. CONNETIX ships UK orders from its warehouse in Minworth.

Sources we used

  1. 1MAGNA-TILES Classic 32-Piece SetMAGNA-TILES · October 2, 2026
  2. 2MAGNA-TILES FAQ (magnets, rivets, safety, shipping)MAGNA-TILES · October 2, 2026
  3. 3MAGNA-TILES retailers and distributorsMAGNA-TILES · October 2, 2026
  4. 4MAGNA-TILES Classic 100-Piece SetMAGNA-TILES · October 2, 2026
  5. 5microMAGS Travel SetMAGNA-TILES · October 2, 2026
  6. 6CONNETIX Rainbow Starter Pack 60 pcCONNETIX · October 2, 2026
  7. 7CONNETIX FAQs (standards tested, compatibility)CONNETIX · October 2, 2026
  8. 8CONNETIX shipping and warehousesCONNETIX · October 2, 2026
  9. 9PicassoTiles 100-piece set (PT100)PicassoTiles · October 2, 2026
  10. 10Safety Gate alert: Everplay magnet tiles building block set, 66 pieces (SR/01119/26)European Commission, Safety Gate · October 2, 2026
  11. 11Coodoo Magnetic Tiles, 40 piecesAmazon US listing · October 2, 2026
  12. 12Toy safety business guidance (ASTM F963-23, magnets)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission · October 2, 2026
  13. 13Goody King Magnetic Building Cubes and Blocks recalled (26-686)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission · October 2, 2026
  14. 14CreateOn recalls Pip-Cubes (26-128)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission · October 2, 2026
  15. 15Product safety alert: small high-powered magnetic products (PSA1)GOV.UK (OPSS) · October 2, 2026
  16. 16Toy safety in the EU (Regulation (EU) 2025/2509)European Commission · October 2, 2026

How this guide was made

Researched and drafted with AI assistance, checked line by line against the sources listed on this page, and published under the editorial responsibility of Idan Yehuda. We did not test these products ourselves.

Idan Yehuda

Editor, co-creator of the WonderPad

Idan co-founded GoWonderia and helped design the WonderPad, a Montessori-inspired tracing tablet sold on Amazon in Spain and the UK, which took him through toy-safety certification first-hand. He is a product manager and a dad, and he edits every GoWonderia guide.