Skip to content

Screen-free audio players

Screen-free audio players for kids in 2026: Yoto vs Toniebox and more

Yoto, Toniebox, Lunii and Story Dream Machine compared for ages 1 to 8: age fit, content and Spanish titles, Wi-Fi, headphone limits and recall checks.

  • 15 sources
  • 6 products compared
  • Recall-checked in US, UK and EU databases
  • Researched, not lab-tested
In this guide
  1. Our verdict
  2. How we chose these
  3. Our picks
  4. How to choose in four questions
  5. The key facts side by side
  6. Wi-Fi and offline listening
  7. Headphones and hearing
  8. Safety marks and recalls
  9. What about FABA, Toniebox Lite and the original Toniebox?
  10. Frequently asked questions
  11. Sources we used

Quick answer

Our verdict

For most children aged 3 and up, the Yoto Player is the strongest all-rounder: more than 1,000 titles (with Spanish cards labelled Latin American or Castilian), a night light and clock, and offline playback once a card has synced. For toddlers from age 1, the Toniebox 2 is designed for small hands, and the Yoto Mini is the travel pick. All of them need Wi-Fi once for each new card or figure, and none of them has a screen.

How we chose these

  1. 1Age fit: the maker's age grading, and what the controls ask of a small child
  2. 2Content: how big the library is, which languages it covers (including Castilian vs Latin American Spanish) and how you build it
  3. 3Offline use: what needs Wi-Fi and what plays without it
  4. 4Hearing and safety: volume limits, headphone options, the safety marks the maker states, and recall checks in the US, UK and EU databases
  5. 5Availability: whether the player and its content can be bought in the US and the UK

The picks at a glance

Our picks

Our picksAgesPrice bandJump to
1. Yoto Player (4th Gen)Best overall for ages 3 and up3+ · $$$3+$$$Best overall for ages 3 and up
2. Toniebox 2Best for toddlers from age 11+ · $$$1+$$$Best for toddlers from age 1
3. Yoto Mini (4th Gen)Best for travel3+ · $$$3+$$$Best for travel
4. Lunii My Fabulous StorytellerBest for building stories, with no Wi-Fi at bedtime3 to 8 · $$3 to 8$$Best for building stories, with no Wi-Fi at bedtime
5. Little Tikes Story Dream MachineBudget bedtime pick (with pictures)3+ · $$3+$$Budget bedtime pick (with pictures)
6. Belkin SoundForm Mini Kids HeadphonesHeadphones to pair with any of them3+ · $$3+$$Headphones to pair with any of them

Best overall for ages 3 and up

Yoto Player (4th Gen)

YotoAges: 3+Price band: $$$

Why we picked it

More than 1,000 titles, Spanish cards labelled by accent, a full-panel night light, an okay-to-wake clock and up to 16 hours of battery. Yoto lists three launch gaps on the 4th Gen: some interactive cards do not play yet, it cannot work as a Bluetooth speaker yet, and a few radio stations are missing. If you need interactive cards or speaker mode today, the 3rd Gen is still sold and supports both.

Yoto's home player, launched in September 2026 and on pre-order on 2 October 2026. Children insert a Yoto Card or turn the new Green Button to choose from day and night playlists that an adult sets up. It has a stereo speaker, a full-panel night light, a clock with okay-to-wake cues, 64 GB of storage and up to 16 hours of battery. Wi-Fi is needed for setup and for the first play of each card; after that, downloaded audio plays offline.

Content
Yoto cards and Green Button playlists
Wi-Fi
Setup and first play of each card
Battery
Up to 16 h
Headphones
3.5 mm and Bluetooth
Night light
Night light, clock and alarms
Spanish
Yes, labelled Castilian or Latin American

Good to know

  • Up to 16 hours of battery; charges by USB-C or an optional wireless dock
  • Works with wired (3.5 mm) and Bluetooth headphones, with the headphone volume limit on by default
  • Large card library, including Spanish titles labelled Latin American or Iberian (Castilian)
  • Make Your Own cards and in-app recording let families add their own voices and audio
  • Night light, okay-to-wake clock and alarms built in

Watch out for

  • On pre-order when we checked (2 October 2026), with dispatch from 15 October 2026
  • At launch, interactive cards are not fully supported and Bluetooth speaker mode is not available
  • Not water resistant, unlike the 4th Gen Mini
  • Most expensive Yoto player; power adapter not included
  • No Spanish-language Yoto store: Spain is served by the English/French EU store, and countries without a store by the UK store
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: CE, UKCA, FCC, EN 71, ASTM, RoHS, REACH.

Maker guidance: for ages 3+ (small parts, long cord); adults should charge it with the supplied USB-C cable; do not cover it or expose it to water; keep it away from the ears at high volume; it can produce flashing light. No recall of the Yoto Player 3rd or 4th Gen was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026. Brand history: Yoto Mini units sold 2021 to 2023 were recalled for battery overheating (CPSC 24-190 and 25-065), and the UK plug adaptor of the 2nd Gen Yoto Player was replaced under a corrective programme.

Safety notices that mention this product or brand:

Not checked yet: US CPSC.

Best for toddlers from age 1

Toniebox 2

toniesAges: 1+Price band: $$$

Why we picked it

Built for small hands: a child only places a figure on top to play it, and a 1+ mode stops it playing while it charges. tonies says every Tonie works on every Toniebox, whichever country it was bought in. One catch outside the US and Canada: wired headphones must be tonies' own USB-C pair or its adapter, because there is no 3.5 mm jack.

Second-generation Toniebox, released in October 2025. A child places a magnetic Tonie figure on top to play its stories or songs; Tonieplay audio games need a separate controller. It charges by USB-C and has a light ring with a sleep timer and sunrise alarm, 32 GB of storage and Bluetooth headphone support. tonies designs it for ages 1 and up. Wi-Fi is needed for setup and the first play of each Tonie; after that it plays offline.

Content
Tonie figures and Tonieplay games
Wi-Fi
Setup and first play of each figure
Battery
Up to 9 h
Headphones
Bluetooth; wired only through USB-C
Night light
Light ring, sleep timer, sunrise alarm
Spanish
Some figures in the US shop; variety not stated

Good to know

  • Designed for ages 1+, with a 1+ mode that disables play while charging
  • Plays every Tonie, including figures bought in other countries
  • Creative Tonies hold up to 90 minutes of family recordings or uploads
  • Offline mode, sleep timer with light and sunrise alarm
  • Bluetooth headphone support, a first for Tonieboxes

Watch out for

  • No 3.5 mm jack; outside the US and Canada, wired listening needs tonies' own USB-C headphones or adapter
  • Battery up to 9 hours, per tonies' own comparison table
  • Content is bought figure by figure, so a library builds up cost over time
  • The EU store sells no Spanish Tonies, and the Spanish variety of the US store's Spanish Tonies is not stated
  • Tonieplay games require an extra controller
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: OEKO-TEX Standard 100 (cover fabric).

Maker guidance: the light can flash, so it should not be used by anyone with photosensitive epilepsy; the short charging cable is a child-safety requirement for ages 1+; in 1+ mode it cannot play while charging. No recall of any Toniebox was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026. The only tonies recall found was for tonies Blocks (magnets, 2022), not a Toniebox.

Safety notices that mention this product or brand:

Not checked yet: US CPSC.

Best for travel

Yoto Mini (4th Gen)

YotoAges: 3+Price band: $$$

Why we picked it

About 185 g, rated IP67 for water and dust, up to 16 hours of battery and the same card library as the Yoto Player. It has no night light, so it suits trips and bags more than the bedside.

Pocket-size Yoto player launched in September 2026. It plays Yoto Cards and the Green Button day and night playlists, stores 64 GB of audio for offline listening, lasts up to 16 hours per charge and is rated IP67 for water and dust. It has a clock with okay-to-wake cues but no night light. The cheaper Yoto Mini (2024 Edition), without the Green Button, is still sold.

Content
Yoto cards and Green Button playlists
Wi-Fi
Setup and first play of each card
Battery
Up to 16 h
Headphones
3.5 mm and Bluetooth
Night light
Clock and alarms, no night light
Spanish
Yes, labelled Castilian or Latin American

Good to know

  • IP67 water and dust rating, with liquid detection that pauses charging
  • Up to 16 hours of battery and about 1,000 hours of offline storage
  • Small and light (185 g), suited to travel
  • Wired (3.5 mm) and Bluetooth headphones, with the headphone volume limit on by default
  • Same card library as the Yoto Player, including Latin American and Castilian Spanish titles

Watch out for

  • No night light
  • At launch, interactive cards are not fully supported and Bluetooth speaker mode is not available
  • Costs more than the Yoto Mini (2024 Edition), which Yoto still sells
  • Water resistance is not meant for long or intentional submersion
  • Power adapter not included
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: CE, UKCA, FCC, EN 71, ASTM, RoHS, REACH.

Maker guidance: for ages 3+ (long cord); adults should charge it; do not cover it; keep it away from the ears at high volume; IP67 does not cover prolonged or intentional submersion. The earlier battery recall covered Yoto Minis sold from November 2021 to April 2024 (CPSC 24-190 and 25-065; UK and EU notices list 2021 to 2023 units); GOV.UK states 2024 Minis are unaffected, and the 4th Gen went on sale in September 2026. No recall of the 4th Gen was found on 2 October 2026.

Safety notices that mention this product or brand:

Not checked yet: US CPSC.

Best for building stories, with no Wi-Fi at bedtime

Lunii My Fabulous Storyteller

LuniiAges: 3 to 8Price band: $$

Why we picked it

Children assemble their own story by choosing a hero, a place, a companion and an object. Listening never needs Wi-Fi (only adding audiobooks does), and the maker states an 85 dB volume limit. Audiobooks are bought title by title.

French story box for ages 3 to 8: the child chooses a hero, a place, a companion and an object, and the device plays a story built from those choices. It has no screen, a speaker and a 3.5 mm jack, about 8 hours of battery and 48 built-in stories; more audiobooks are bought per title. The current EU and US model uses Wi-Fi only while transferring audiobooks. In Spain it is sold as 'Mi Fábrica de Historias' under the Stelii brand, whose page listed it as unavailable on 2 October 2026.

Content
Build-your-own-story audiobooks
Wi-Fi
Only to link it and add audiobooks
Battery
About 8 h
Headphones
3.5 mm jack; 85 dB limit
Night light
Night mode
Spanish
Built-in stories in Spanish, by edition

Good to know

  • No screen; Wi-Fi is on only while transferring audiobooks
  • Volume limited to 85 dB; any 3.5 mm headphones work
  • Families can record their own stories (up to 30 minutes) with the Lunii Studio
  • Can be bought with its built-in stories in Spanish, English or French
  • Night mode plays stories in sequence and then switches off

Watch out for

  • The Spanish brand page (Stelii) listed the device as unavailable on 2 October 2026; no Mexico store
  • Recordings are limited to 30 minutes
  • Audiobooks are paid per title, or through a 12-month subscription on the EU site
  • The Spanish variety of the Spanish content is not stated
  • The Stelii page describes a model without Wi-Fi, unlike the EU model
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: EN 71, RoHS, REACH.

The maker states compliance with EN 71 toy safety standards, RoHS and REACH, and EMC and radio equipment rules. On-pack warnings were not reviewed for this sheet. No recall of Lunii or Stelii products was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026. Legal warranty in Europe: 2 years.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

Not checked yet: US CPSC.

Budget bedtime pick (with pictures)

Little Tikes Story Dream Machine

Little TikesAges: 3+Price band: $$

Why we picked it

A battery-powered story projector: it reads a story aloud while projecting its words and pictures on the wall, and doubles as a night light and white-noise machine. It projects images, so it is not audio-only, and it runs on four AA batteries.

A battery-powered story projector rather than a pure audio player. A child inserts a story cartridge and the machine reads the story aloud while projecting the words and pictures on a wall; a character figure adds light effects. It also works as a night light and white-noise machine with five sounds, runs on four AA batteries and has a headphone jack. No app or Wi-Fi is described by the maker.

Content
Story cartridges with projected pictures
Wi-Fi
None
Battery
4 AA batteries
Headphones
Headphone jack
Night light
Night light and white noise
Spanish
Some Spanish collections (US store)

Good to know

  • Read-along projection of words and pictures
  • No app, account or Wi-Fi described
  • Headphone jack for quiet listening
  • Night light and white-noise mode with five sounds
  • Spanish-language story collections on the US Little Tikes store

Watch out for

  • Projects images, so it is not audio-only
  • Runs on four AA batteries; no built-in rechargeable battery is described
  • No way to record or add your own stories
  • Each collection holds only three stories
  • No Little Tikes store for it in Spain or Mexico; the UK starter set was unavailable
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: FCC Part 15 Class B, ICES-3(B)/NMB-3(B).

Maker guidance: do not look directly into the lens light while it is on; indoor use only; keep it away from steps, pools and hot surfaces; follow the battery instructions (do not mix old and new or different battery types, remove dead batteries, adult supervision for recharging). No recall of the Story Dream Machine was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026; Little Tikes' older recalls involve unrelated products.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

Not checked yet: US CPSC.

Headphones to pair with any of them

Belkin SoundForm Mini Kids Headphones

BelkinAges: 3+Price band: $$

Why we picked it

Kids' wireless headphones with a stated 85 dB maximum, but only in Bluetooth mode: on the included 3.5 mm cable, the player's own volume limit is what protects hearing. They work with every player here by Bluetooth or cable; the Toniebox 2 has no jack, so it pairs over Bluetooth, which tonies says usually works with other brands' headphones.

Wireless on-ear headphones for children aged 3 and up that can also be used wired with the included 3.5 mm cable. Belkin caps the volume at 85 dB in Bluetooth mode, rates the battery at up to 30 hours and includes a built-in microphone. They pair with any of the players in this guide that offer Bluetooth or a 3.5 mm jack. Belkin also sells a newer SoundForm Mini 2 rated at up to 55 hours.

Battery
Up to 30 h
Headphones
Bluetooth and 3.5 mm cable; 85 dB in Bluetooth mode

Good to know

  • Bluetooth plus an included 3.5 mm cable, so they suit most players
  • Up to 30 hours of battery; a 10-minute USB-C charge gives up to 3 hours
  • 85 dB volume cap in Bluetooth mode
  • 2-year warranty

Watch out for

  • The 85 dB cap is stated for Bluetooth mode only; wired volume depends on the player
  • Built-in microphone, which some families may not want
  • Toniebox 2 outside the US and Canada cannot use third-party wired USB-C headphones, so use Bluetooth there
  • No price published on Belkin's Spanish site; Amazon.es showed a 6-month shipping estimate on 2 October 2026
Safety marks and recall checkListing last checked: October 2, 2026

Safety marks: not confirmed on the maker pages we read.

Belkin's 85 dB maximum applies in Bluetooth mode; when wired, keep the player's own headphone volume limit switched on. No recall of Belkin headphones was found in CPSC, EU Safety Gate or UK product safety searches on 2 October 2026; Belkin recalls found there concern power banks and chargers.

No recall notices found in UK OPSS (October 2, 2026) and EU Safety Gate (October 2, 2026).

Not checked yet: US CPSC.

How to choose in four questions

1. How old is your child? tonies designs the Toniebox 2 and the Toniebox Lite for ages 1 and up. Yoto rates its players for 3 and up, Lunii’s storyteller for 3 to 8, and Lunii’s FLAM for older children (the maker’s pages put it at 7 and up). Under 3, look for figures a child can place without help and a short, child-safe charging setup.

2. Which languages do you need? Every brand here sells English content. For Spanish, Yoto is the only one that labels each Spanish card as Latin American or Iberian (Castilian). The tonies US shop sells Spanish and bilingual figures without saying which Spanish. Lunii’s storyteller comes with built-in stories in English, French or Spanish depending on the edition.

3. Where do you live? In the US, all the players in this guide are sold by their brands. In the UK, Yoto and tonies run UK stores, and Lunii serves UK buyers from its EU store; the Story Dream Machine was listed as unavailable on the UK Little Tikes site when we checked. If you are in Spain, read our Spanish guide: FABA is the leader there and the picture is different.

4. How will you build a library? Content is the long-term cost. Yoto sells cards and an optional Yoto Club membership, tonies sells figures one at a time (plus a US subscription), and Lunii sells audiobooks title by title. All three let you add your own recordings: Yoto’s Make Your Own cards, tonies’ Creative Tonies (up to 90 minutes) and Lunii Studio (up to 30 minutes).

The key facts side by side

Yoto Player (4th Gen) Yoto Mini (4th Gen) Toniebox 2 Lunii storyteller Story Dream Machine
Maker’s age 3+ 3+ 1+ 3 to 8 3+
How content plays Cards Cards Figures on top Built-in and downloaded audiobooks Story cartridges
Wi-Fi Setup and first play of each card Same as Player Setup and first play of each figure Only to link it and add audiobooks None
Battery (maker) Up to 16 h Up to 16 h Up to 9 h About 8 h 4 AA batteries
Headphones 3.5 mm and Bluetooth 3.5 mm and Bluetooth Bluetooth; wired via USB-C 3.5 mm Headphone jack
Night light or clock Night light, clock, alarms Clock and alarms, no light Light ring, sleep timer, sunrise alarm Night mode Night light and white noise
Spanish labelled by accent Yes Yes Not stated Not stated Not stated

Wi-Fi and offline listening

None of these players streams on demand like a phone. Yoto and the Toniebox 2 need Wi-Fi to set up and to download each new card or figure the first time; after that, downloaded content plays offline. Lunii’s storyteller only uses Wi-Fi to link it and add audiobooks, so listening never needs it, and the Story Dream Machine has no connection at all. If you travel, play each new card or figure once at home before you leave.

Headphones and hearing

Volume limits differ more than the marketing suggests. Yoto’s 4th Gen players turn the headphone volume limit on by default, and both Yoto players let you set day and night limits in the app. Lunii states an 85 dB limit, and tonies states 85 dB for its own headphones. Belkin’s SoundForm Mini states an 85 dB maximum in Bluetooth mode only, so on a cable the player’s limit is what counts. The Toniebox 2 has no 3.5 mm jack at all.

Safety marks and recalls

We checked each product against the US CPSC, the UK’s product-safety notices and the EU’s Safety Gate. Every product card above shows the latest automated check and links any notice it finds.

  • Yoto Mini (earlier units): Minis sold from November 2021 to April 2024 were recalled for battery overheating. UK and EU notices list the 2021 to 2023 editions. The 4th Gen went on sale in September 2026, after that window.
  • Yoto Player 2nd Gen (UK plug adaptor): GOV.UK and Safety Gate list a plug-adaptor notice for the 2nd Gen Player. No notice was found for the 3rd or 4th Gen Player.
  • tonies: the only tonies recall found was for tonies Blocks (2022, magnets), a different product, not a Toniebox. Tonie figures contain magnets, so tonies advises keeping them away from pacemakers and other implants.
  • Lunii, FABA, the Story Dream Machine and the headphones: no notices found when we checked.

What about FABA, Toniebox Lite and the original Toniebox?

FABA is the Italian storyteller that leads in Spain, but its brand stores serve Spain, Italy and France only, so it is not a practical buy in the US or UK. Toniebox Lite is a smaller Toniebox for ages 1 and up, sold in the US, Canada, the UK and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand according to tonies: it plays every Tonie but not Tonieplay games, and runs up to 6 hours. The original Toniebox is out of stock at tonies in the US and no longer available in the UK; Tonies still work on it, but it has an older charging station and no Bluetooth.

Frequently asked questions

Do Yoto and Toniebox need Wi-Fi?

Both need Wi-Fi to set up and to download each new card or figure the first time. After that, downloaded content plays offline. Yoto's radio and podcasts still need a connection, and the Toniebox 2 has a manual offline mode.

Yoto or Toniebox for a 2-year-old?

tonies designs the Toniebox 2 (and the smaller Toniebox Lite) for ages 1 and up, with a 1+ mode. Yoto rates its players for ages 3 and up and says use by younger children should be operated by an adult. For a 2-year-old, the Toniebox is the closer fit.

Can my child use headphones?

Yes, with differences. Yoto players take wired (3.5 mm) and Bluetooth headphones, with the headphone volume limit on by default on the 4th Gen. The Toniebox 2 has no 3.5 mm jack: Bluetooth headphones usually work, and wired use in the UK and EU needs tonies' USB-C headphones or adapter. Lunii's storyteller has a 3.5 mm jack.

Do Tonies bought in another country work?

Yes. tonies says every Tonie works with every Toniebox, whichever country it was bought in. The box's system language can be set to German, French, British or American English, but a Tonie's own language cannot be changed.

Is there Spanish content?

Yoto sells Spanish cards and labels each one as Latin American or Iberian (Castilian) Spanish. The tonies US shop sells Spanish and bilingual figures but does not say which Spanish. In Spain, FABA has the largest catalogue in Spanish, Catalan and Basque; see our Spanish guide.

Was the Yoto Mini recalled?

Yoto Mini units sold from November 2021 to April 2024 were recalled for battery overheating (CPSC 24-190, re-announced as 25-065). GOV.UK says 2024 Minis are unaffected, and the 4th Gen Mini went on sale in September 2026. Check your serial number on Yoto's recall page.

Sources we used

  1. 1Yoto Player (4th Gen)Yoto · October 2, 2026
  2. 2Compare the Yoto playersYoto · October 2, 2026
  3. 3Interactive Yoto Cards and 4th Generation Players: what you need to knowYoto Help · October 2, 2026
  4. 4Does my Yoto need to be online to play content?Yoto Help · October 2, 2026
  5. 5What age is Yoto suitable for?Yoto Help · October 2, 2026
  6. 6Yoto Mini recallYoto · October 2, 2026
  7. 7Yoto Recalls Yoto Mini Speakers for Children Due to Burn and Fire Hazards (24-190)US CPSC · October 2, 2026
  8. 8Product Safety Report: Yoto Mini (2021-2023 edition)GOV.UK (OPSS) · October 2, 2026
  9. 9Toniebox 2tonies · October 2, 2026
  10. 10Can I use any wired headphones with Toniebox 2?tonies Help · October 2, 2026
  11. 11Using Tonies and Tonieboxes from other countriestonies Help · October 2, 2026
  12. 12Introducing Toniebox Lite (FAQ and comparison table)tonies Help · October 2, 2026
  13. 13My Fabulous StorytellerLunii · October 2, 2026
  14. 14Story Dream Machine, Dr. Seuss Starter PackLittle Tikes · October 2, 2026
  15. 15SoundForm Mini wireless headphones for kidsBelkin · October 2, 2026

How this guide was made

Researched and drafted with AI assistance, checked line by line against the sources listed on this page, and published under the editorial responsibility of Idan Yehuda. We did not test these products ourselves.

Idan Yehuda

Editor, co-creator of the WonderPad

Idan co-founded GoWonderia and helped design the WonderPad, a Montessori-inspired tracing tablet sold on Amazon in Spain and the UK, which took him through toy-safety certification first-hand. He is a product manager and a dad, and he edits every GoWonderia guide.